Chocolate City, 1986

Chocolate City, 1986
Courtesy MIT Museum

The brothers (and sister) of Chocolate City, 1986.

Top row, standing, left to right: Dino Browne '91; David Jefferson '91; Frank Griffith '87; Jim Tate '87; Robert Newkirk '89; Will Blake; Scott Deering '89, PhD '95; R. Keith Norwood '86, Howard Richard '86; Ed Page '89; Darryl Robinson '86
Middle row, kneeling, left to right: Steve Marshall '83; Nowa Lubega; Cecil Maccannon '86; Jay Fraser '89; Cynthia McIntyre PhD '90; Clifton Larsen '88; J. Neil Hackett '87; Yvolth Noel; Elliot Williams '87; Teddy Bosey 
Front row, seated, left to right: Richard Blair '87; Pascal Antoine '88; Daxland Prather '87, Nat Young '89; Bill Cammack '89


Chocolate City (CC) is a living group at MIT currently residing on the top three floors of the New House 1 dormitory. Established in 1972 by black male students, CC aims to create a support network for all of the brothers within, and to develop each of the individual brothers intellectually, professionally, as well as socially.

Timeline: 1980s
Life: Black Students' Union (BSU)Chocolate City (CC)
Career: Community
Object: Image
Collection: Integration and Differentiation 1969-1994, Living Groups, Students, Technique Yearbook
External Link: