Answering the Call: Advancing the Relevance of Architecture (2022)

In this Fall 2022 Lecture Series panel, held on 22 December 22, Whitney M. Young Jr. Award recipients discuss the engagement of architects with the issues of equity and inclusion both within the design professions and society as a whole. Hear how their work is an answer to Whitney Young’s challenge, and how it can inspire us to be a profession defined not by our “thunderous silence” but instead by our social, civic and personal commitments to a more just future.

Tamara Eagle Bull, FAIA
Gabrielle Bullock, FAIA
Katherine Williams, AIA

Emily Grandstaff-Rice, FAIA – 2023 President, American Institute of Architects
Jensen Johnson, SMArchS candidate in the MIT Department of Architecture

About the Award

Trained as an electrical engineer at MIT, civil rights leader Whitney M. Young, Jr. challenged the profession of architecture to pursue progressive values. The American Institute of Architects (AIA) award is named in his memory and is one result of that challenge. The award distinguishes an architect or architectural organization that embodies social responsibility and actively addresses a relevant issue, such as affordable housing, inclusiveness, or universal access.



Timeline: 2020s
School: School of Architecture and Planning
Department: Architecture
Career: Arts & Humanities
Object: Video
Collection: Activism, Honors, Rising Voices 1995-Present, Students, Talks