African Students' Association, 1986

ASA 1986
Courtesy MIT Museum

African Students' Association members in the Black Students' Union Lounge, 1986. First row, left to right: Charles Animalu, Erastus Njage (secretary), Sim Ochi, Nowa Lujega (social secretary), Frances Ukueberuwa, Josef Shaohi, Anne Khanwnwa. Second row, left to right: Mike Owu, Nayel El-Shafei, Zeeky Bukhala, Bernard Loyd, Coffie Thierry, Salif Sow, Moctar Fall, John Esin (president), Fuad Mohammad, Radhwan Masmoudi, Benneth Sarfo, Daniel Gakio, John Ofori (treasurer), Fred Asari, and Kwame Erah. Countries represented: Algeria, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, and Uganda.

African Students' Association

The MIT African Students' Association (ASA) is a student organization that brings together African students and everyone interested in Africa. A diverse family, ASA's members hail from countries such as Egypt, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Madgascar, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, the United States, and England.

Timeline: 1980s
Life: African Students' Association (ASA)
Career: Community
Object: Image
Collection: Africa(n), Integration and Differentiation 1969-1994, Middle East, Students, Technique Yearbook
External Link: